183 candidates to contest Vanuatu general election

The Electoral Commission broadcast the official list of 183 candidates for the 52 parliamentary seats near midnight last night. Voting takes place on 22 January. 72 hours are given for those whose applications were un-acceptable in the first declaration to re-submit their candidacy forms. Kilion Taleo is Chairman of the Electoral Commission and presided over the first declaration. The Vanuatu Labour Party has said it will be starting its campaign on Sunday when the names of its two candidates have been revealed in the second declaration on Saturday. The party expressed displeasure over the working of the Commission.

Vanuatu Daily Digest hopes to be able to publish the full list of candidates early next week.